top of page

PRANAYAMA SPOTLIGHT: Anuloma Viloma

If you haven't already you can check out my newest

This is the pranayama technique that is called anuloma viloma (अनुलोम विलोम) or alternate nostril breathing. This is my favourite pranayama that I have learned.

This pranayama is said to effectively relieve stress and anxiety. Extended practice has been said to help treat depression. It’s best to practice it before asana practice. However, it can be done anytime, any where, when you are feeling imbalanced, or anxious.

The right hand finds the position of the vishnu mudra. The middle and index finger rest on the pad of the palm. The thumb wraps around and is used to block the right nostril. The pinky and ring finger wrap around to block the left nostril.

To start, the ratio that it is aimed to be practiced at is 4:16:8. This means you are inhaling for a count of 4, retaining the breath for a count of 16, and exhaling for a count of 8. This can be very difficult for some initially, so you can start with 4:4:4 as demonstrated it the video. Once comfortable and familiar with the inhale, retain, and exhale sequence you may want to begin trying for 2:8:4 before moving into 4:16:8.

I found retaining my breath for 16 seconds to be very difficult, particularly if I have not been practicing for quite a while, or if my anxiety is high. I can also find that it is difficult if my heart is racing too quickly. Over time I became more accustomed, but I still noticed that the higher my levels of anxiety, the harder those 16 counts became. During those times, I practice 2:8:4 until I notice my anxiety reduce.

This pranayama is said to purifying the nadis or energy channels. The left nadi is the ida, the feminine; the right is the pingala, the masculine. Purifying the nadis allows for prana (life-force energy) to flow into the sushumna (the central energy channel of the spine). It relieves tension and brings balance by purifying the nadis. This purification is said to help one to become the silent witness and observer to their thoughts. Anuloma Viloma includes challenging the mind to remain present, so that it is one’s conscious decision to exhale.

An interesting practice for me when I began using this pranayama was noticing which nostril may have some clogging. Often I am able to guess before I check which nostril is clogged based on how I am feeling. For example, if I am feeling overly emotional or as if I am neglecting my emotions (a feminine imbalance) I have noticed the left channel, the ida nadi, to be clogged.

This is my favourite pranayama for anxiety. It is my favourite for overall balance.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page